Wheelers Notes 220511

The 2011 Frank O’ Rourke Memorial Race, proudly sponsored by Ferrybank Motors, takes place next Sunday, 29th May.

Sign on will be at Camross Hall from 10-12. Underage racing starts at 11am.
Senior racing starts at 12:30 with the A1/A2 race of 5 laps of a 22km circuit. The A3 race will be 4 laps and the A4 race 3 laps.

Hopes are high for a ‘home’ win with Davy Walsh, Conchubhar Ó Crulaoich, Martin Mizjayski and Martin Gill aiming for victory in the A1/A2 race; Luke Maguire, Patsy McCaffery, Dave Allen and Johnny Gordon in A3 and any of Eoin O’Shea, Joe Rossiter, Michael Noonan, Damien Heffernan, Gary O’Flaherty, Michael O’Flaherty or Paul Barry capable of winning the A4 race. Odhran Stynes and Darragh Ferris will be hoping their recent good form in the Slaney CC league continues onto Sunday. No pressure, Lads, no pressure!

Wexford cyclists were in action in Connamara last weekend where Daithi Breathnach won the geansai bui in the Bog Week 2 Day cycle race. Also well placed were Proinsios Ó Duinn, Conchubhar Ó Crualaoich, Alan Ó Gallabháin and Máirtin Scairdsci (winner of stage 3).

Bobby Newport completed the Beara 400 last Saturday. This was a tough spin, made harder by the wet and windy weather. See Bobby’s report on www.wexfordwheelers.com.