Milk Rás winner takes Wexford Wheelers Hamper Race

The annual festive hamper race took place on Sunday last in pleasant winter sunshine, using the facilities of  Mick Wallace’s Ferrycarrig Park and attracted a large turnout of  75 riders, 55 senior and 20 underage.  And what the senior riders were competing for were five very fine hampers sponsored by Celtic Link Ferries who are celebrating the addition of  the “Norman Voyager” to their Ireland-France route.

peletonThe race took place over five laps of the circuit around Ferrycarrig Park and spectators were treated to a very fast closely fought contest that in the end went to twice Milk Ras winner, Philip Cassidy, Dunboyne CC, followed closely by David Walsh, Wexford Wheelers in second place and Robin Kelly of Comeragh  CC in third. Fourth was Wexford Wheelers Club Person of the Year Conchubair O Crualaoich.  The aforementioned were all part of a breakaway group from the main field which was led in by racing legend Sean Kelly.





seankellySean Kelly, much to the delight of the parents, even if their offspring in the tiny tots race were unaware of the great man’s stature, oversaw the start of this fun event which saw some of the contestants compete on their tricycles!

Before presenting the prizes, Club Chairman, David Maguire, thanked the sponsors, Celtic Link Ferries,  Mick Wallace and his team for the use of Ferrycarrig Park, the eight motorbike riders who escorted the riders safely around the circuit and the club members who marshaled traffic at junctions.

Paddy Kinsella presented the Liam Bennett Memorial Trophy to Denis Mc Carthy of Slipstream CC and John Gordon presented the Bike Shop League prizes :1st overall  went to Martin Mizgajski, Wexford Wheelers ,  2nd David Walsh, Wexford Wheelers; Wexford Wheelers man Patsy McCaffery claimed a prize in the C category and Stephen Kelly of Slaney CC  was first veteran.