Frank O’Rourke Race 2007







[singlepic id=202 w=320 h=240 float=center]





[singlepic id=56 w=320 h=240 float=center]

The prestigious Frank O’Rourke Memorial Perpetual Trophy (left), the Winners trophy, Second & Third trophies

[singlepic id=37 w=320 h=240 float=center]

The lead car cortege – is Brendan soliciting by any chance??? Maybe he just likes the car??

[singlepic id=38 w=320 h=240 float=center]

Mark leads the Frank O’Rourke Memorial Road Race!!

[singlepic id=39 w=320 h=240 float=center]

If there was a combativity award this man deserves it…and we still didn’t find out who he was but we’re sure to remember him.

[singlepic id=40 w=320 h=240 float=center]

Mr Misfortune again Patrick broke a spoke on the second lap but still managed to finish the race.

[singlepic id=41 w=320 h=240 float=center]

Mick, with Martin uncharacteristically in the bunch at this stage in the race

[singlepic id=42 w=320 h=240 float=center]

This was Keiths first experience with the big boys. Keith is currently the leader in the Liam Bennett TT league.

[singlepic id=43 w=320 h=240 float=center]

Gary & Heather feel the early pressure

[singlepic id=44 w=320 h=240 float=center]

On the second lap Murt from SCC attempts to bridge the gap to our lone leader whe eventually manages to do.

[singlepic id=45 w=320 h=240 float=center]

A chasing group containing Patrick & Paddy Dunne of SCC goes out in front of the bunch

[singlepic id=46 w=320 h=240 float=center]

The bunch never let them get too far away

[singlepic id=47 w=320 h=240 float=center]

Lap 3 and Murt & yer man are still away…

[singlepic id=48 w=320 h=240 float=center]

The previous winner on this circuit sits comfortably, Alex Williams of SCC

[singlepic id=49 w=320 h=240 float=center]

Patrick back in the bunch still looks comfortable

[singlepic id=50 w=320 h=240 float=center]

Vinny Kelly from Carrig, Seans brother. You can never, ever dismiss a Kelly from Carrig and he was soon taken back on lap 4.

[singlepic id=51 w=320 h=240 float=center]

The hounds can smell blood – 4 of the top 5 places in the Tommy O’Brien Memorial race are still in contention

[singlepic id=52 w=320 h=240 float=center]

The dark horse – not Black Beauty – the other one – Conor Crowley (Sorry Conor, I have trouble pronouncing the Irish version of your name let alone spell it)

[singlepic id=53 w=320 h=240 float=center]

Mark battles on with what was believed to be a pre race favourite. The guy in fronts club as listed on the sign on was Poland. Could he have been another dark horse?

[singlepic id=54 w=320 h=240 float=center]

Martin lets rip no the last lap. This was to be the decisive move.

[singlepic id=55 w=320 h=240 float=center]

So far this is the best picture we have if the finish but it shows how close Martin came to winning but alas, Danny Carroll from Clonmel was to take the spoils

[singlepic id=57 w=320 h=240 float=center]

Winner Danny Carrol from Clonmel Cycling Club being presented with the Frank O’Rourke Memorial Trophy by Wendy, Franks daughter and MD of  sponsors, Ferrybank Motors

[singlepic id=58 w=320 h=240 float=center]

All of the senior winners & the sponsors family.

Wexford Wheelers would like to extend their gratitude to the O’Rourke family & Ferrybank Motors for their support & sponsorship of this race as well as the assistance provided and the lead vehicles accompanied by drivers to ensure the race was run as Frank would have done himself.

We would also like to thank the following in no particular order:

The Red Cross Ambulance service

The motorcycle riders

The Garda bike rider

The caretaker of Camaross ballroom and their facilities

The stewards of the day

Paddy Kinsella for providing his services for the Commissaire

and in particular Pat Geoghegan who arranged and organised the event in a professional manner which showed on the day

© Wexford Wheelers 2007/2008 unless otherwise stated.